PRA | Academy of Psychiatric Rehabilitation and Recovery



Awards & Recognition

PRA celebrates and recognizes the people and organizations that make a difference in the psychiatric rehabiliation community through the Awards of Distinction and Dincin Fellowship Program.

You are here


PRA Dincin Fellows

The PRA Dincin Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made significant and sustained contributions to the art and science of psychiatric rehabilitation. PRA Dincin Fellows have reached a level of distinction in the professional practice of psychiatric rehabilitation and have advanced the field through their involvement in PRA, service-based programs, scientific inquiry, advocacy, and/or chapter development. It is an honor to recognize these individuals through the PRA Dincin Fellowship Program:

  • Harvey Rosenthal
  • William Anthony, PhD
  • Nora Barrett, MSW, ACSW, CPRP
  • Judith Cook, PhD
  • Betty Dahlquist, CPRP
  • Jerry Dincin, PhD
  • R. Scott Graham, CPRP
  • Mary Huggins, CPRP
  • Mary Alice Brown Johnston, PhD, CPRP
  • Eileen Joseph, CPRP
  • Martha Long, CPRP
  • Donald Naranjo, PhD
  • Patricia Nemec, PsyD, CRC, CPRP
  • Anita Pernell-Arnold, PhD
  • Carolyn Peterson, CPRP
  • Bob Schuler, CPRP
  • Anthony Zipple, ScD, MBA, CPRP
  • Lucille Mauro, CPRP

Awards of Distinction

Great people and organizations make a significant difference in the psychiatric rehabilitation community. Exceptional leaders inspire others, set the pace for performance, excel the movement and nurture success. PRA celebrates and recognize the accomplishments of our community through the Awards of Distinction and Dincin Fellowship Program.

The recipients are recognized each year at the Recovery Workforce Summit. 

Apply Today

Nominations for the 2017 Awards of Distinction are closed.

Congratulations to the 2017 Awards of Distinction Recipients

Armin Loeb Award 

Larry Davidson, Ph.D

John Beard Award
Lisa Razzano, Ph.D.,

Psychiatric Rehabilitation
Practitioner Award
David Paone, M.Ed.,

Leroy Spaniol
Educator Award
Meaghan Stacy,


The Isaiah Uliss Advocate Award is presented in memory of Isaiah Uliss, a revolutionary advocate for recovery. PRA strongly values the incredible contribution people in recovery make to the advancement of psychiatric rehabilitation. The Isaiah Uliss Award recognizes an individual who is or has been in recovery from a psychiatric disorder, whose leadership is exemplary in the advocacy for, operation of and/or sustaining of community programs and supports.

The John Beard Award is presented in memory of Mr. John Beard who was Executive Director of New York's Fountain House for 28 years. Through Mr. Beard's work, the Club House model was established and concepts that are seminal in the field of psychiatric rehabilitation were developed. The John Beard Award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions, which have led to decisive, lasting and far-reaching advances in the field of psychiatric rehabilitation.

The Irvin Rutman Award is presented in recognition of the exemplary contributions of Dr. Irvin D. Rutman, Founding President of PRA and recipient of the 1991 Beard Award. Dr. Rutman was the Executive Director of Horizon House for over 30 years and served as President of Matrix Research Institute. He has played a key role in the development of the psychiatric rehabilitation profession. The Irvin Rutman Award is presented to an executive director of a psychiatric program who has demonstrated leadership in the field of psychiatric rehabilitation, as well as in the promoting the mission of PRA to grow and train the recovery workforce.

The Armin Loeb Award is presented in memory of Dr. Armin Loeb who served as Director of Research of Horizon House in Philadelphia for approximately 20 years. He was the first full time research director of any psychiatric rehabilitation agency and conducted research and evaluation studies, which have served as models in the field. The Armin Loeb Award is presented to an individual who has conducted the best-designed and most useful research (integration of research literature, clinical research, evaluative research, and/or applied research) in the field of psychiatric rehabilitation in the preceding year or years.

The Carol T. Mowbray Early Career Research Award is presented in memory of Dr. Carol Mowbray. The award is presented to an emerging social scientist, who has independently conducted high quality research addressing an issue of importance to psychiatric rehabilitation practice or policy, in collaboration with a psychiatric rehabilitation agency or organization. The purpose of the award is to recognize the efforts of new psychiatric rehabilitation researchers, and to promote research partnerships between universities and the Psychiatric Rehabilitation practice community.

The LeRoy Spaniol Educator Award is presented in honor of Dr. Spaniol who was executive publisher of the Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal for twenty‐three years and served as an advisor to many PRA members who, in turn, made significant contributions to the field of psychiatric rehabilitation. The award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions toward educating and mentoring a new generation of leaders. These contributions may be in the area of teaching, training, and/or development of educational materials used to develop a competent workforce.

The Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner Award is presented to an individual who is a direct service provider (i.e., case manager, employment specialist) and has demonstrated dedication and excellence in providing psychiatric rehabilitation services. PRA strongly values the contribution of psychiatric rehabilitation practitioners in supporting individuals with mental illnesses to recover.

The Multicultural Award recognizes and honors a researcher or practitioner that demonstrates and advocates for cultural competence (publications, committee work, community activism or service, and/or collaborative spirit). This individual should be skilled in demonstrating cultural competency and PRA principles of diversity for themselves and the people that they serve; regardless of their own culture, background, beliefs, heritage, etc. This individual contributes to the knowledge regarding interactions of culture and psychiatric disability and of the implicit role of culture within an individual’s recovery.