State Recognition of the CPRP and CFRP

14+ states in the US have regulations in place defining and/or qualifying mental health practitioners through the CPRP and/or CFRP credentials.

You are here

State Recognition of the CPRP and/or CFRP

The CPRP and/or CFRP credentials are recognized in 14+ US states through regulations defining and/or qualifying mental health practitioners: Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Similar legislation is in progress in several others.

Click here for a detailed listing of state regulations and appropriate government agencies.

Summary of State Recognition of the CPRP/CFRP Certification

Florida (October 2005)
Individuals delivering psychosocial rehabilitation services to Medicaid recipients may be the United States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association as a Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner.

Georgia (Nov 2002)
Includes the CPRP in the qualifications for staff providing Peer Support for Adults and Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services.

Hawaii (Oct 2002)
Requires that the Head of Service for a psychiatric rehabilitation program be credentialed as a CPRP and strongly encourages that other staff attain CPRP status.

Idaho (September 2018)

CBRS Specialists, not otherwise previously licensed, are required to have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree and a current PRA credential, based on the primary population being worked with, as designated by PRA.  The CPRP (adults) and CFRP (children) are designated by PRA as the qualifying credential/certifications to provide CBRS services.  Click here for more information.

Illinois (Nov 2002)
Recognizes the CPRP as fulfilling the training requirements for psychiatric rehabilitation practitioners.

Iowa (Winter 2006)
Recognizes the CPRP as fulfilling the qualifications for staff providing Intensive Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services.

Louisiana (Summer 2005) 
Supervisors of psychiatric rehabilitation programs must be certified by PRA or be eligible for certification with a written plan for achieving certification within 12 months of state accreditation.

Maine (Dec 2002)
Links the CPRP to the definitions for Qualified Mental Health Professionals.

Maryland (July 2007)
The CPRP serves as an approved criteria for psychiatric rehabilitation specialists.

Minnesota (June 2003)
The state’s definition of mental health professionals includes a person who is qualified under section 245.462, subdivision 18, clause (6), and who holds a current and valid national certification as a certified rehabilitation counselor or certified psychiatric rehabilitation practitioner.

New Jersey (Nov 6, 2006)
The CPRP may substitute for a bachelor’s degree in a human services field or an associate’s degree and two years of experience providing human services, or five years of human services experience.

New York (Written into PROS 2002; PROS enacted 2006) 
Has implemented a new Medicaid option called Personalized Recovery- Oriented Services (PROS). Recognition of the CPRP is related to the definition of professional staff: “For the purpose of calculating professional staff ratios, a provider may include staff credentialed by the International US Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA) for up to 20 percent of the professional staffing requirements.”

Oklahoma (last updated 2017)
For those pursuing becoming a Certified Behavioral Health Case Manager II (CM II), the CPRP (providing adult services) or CFRP (providing children's services) is offered as an alternative to a degree specifically in education or behavioral health (related).  Individuals with a CPRP or CFRP may qualify for CM II with a bachelor or master level degree in any field.  In addition, training requirements for CM II certification are more stringent for those not holding a CPRP or CFRP; those with a PRA certification seeking CM II certification are exempt from the web-based competency exam for behavioral health rehabilitation (only the web-based competency exam for behavioral health case management is required), and one day of face-to-face behavioral health rehabilitation training (instead of two).  For more details, please refer to

Pennsylvania (February 2001) 
The State Psychiatric Rehabilitation licensing regulations link the CPRP to staff qualifications required for reimbursement for psychiatric rehabilitation services under Medicaid (e.g., at least 25% of all staff within each psychiatric rehabilitation program must be certified through PRA as psychiatric rehabilitation practitioners within a two-year timeframe of program start-up).

Virginia (August 2000) 
Links the CPRP to the definitions for Qualified Mental Health Professionals.

For More Information
Please contact the certification program at